PC Keyboard Multimedia Volume Button Bug

MusikMan74
Posts: 12
Joined: 06 Jan 2018 23:03

PC Keyboard Multimedia Volume Button Bug

Post by MusikMan74 » 06 Feb 2019 20:30

Hello,

Revisiting Radium (v5.9.33) evaluation and discovered this "problem":

When pressing the Vol Up / Vol Down buttons on my PC keyboard, Radium's "System Out" volume changes by +/- 7.5 db.
After 10 keypresses, Radium is at full volume, yet the PC master volume is only at "20 / 100".

It is unintuitive as to why Radium's output starts distorting by simply pressing the VOL UP on my PC keyboard :/

Can I humbly suggest you update Radium to either:

A. Follow the PC master volume scaling and make the db change the much smaller per key press (i.e. +/- 1.4 db per press, so it takes 50 key presses to swing from -35db to 35db)

OR

B. Ignore Vol Up / Down keystrokes all together...


I have posted a gif demonstrating the bug:
Image


Thank you for your time,.



kjetil
Site Admin
Posts: 147
Joined: 20 Jul 2017 20:45

Re: PC Keyboard Multimedia Volume Button Bug

Post by kjetil » 06 Feb 2019 20:41

I didn't know a key could be used both for a program and for the system volume. This seems more like a bug, or perhaps a design flaw, in the operating system.

You can disable this behavior by deleting these two lines from bin/keybindings.conf:
VOLUME_DOWN: ra.volumeDown
VOLUME_UP: ra.volumeUp
There's probably going to be a new Radium release tomorrow, but I'm not sure what to do about this problem, so I don't think there will be any fix for it in the next release.

kjetil
Site Admin
Posts: 147
Joined: 20 Jul 2017 20:45

Re: PC Keyboard Multimedia Volume Button Bug

Post by kjetil » 06 Feb 2019 20:43

By the way, which version of windows is this? I don't think I've seen this problem before.

kjetil
Site Admin
Posts: 147
Joined: 20 Jul 2017 20:45

Re: PC Keyboard Multimedia Volume Button Bug

Post by kjetil » 06 Feb 2019 20:54

Seems like a bug in your audio driver actually:
https://github.com/mpv-player/mpv/commi ... ef74f7547e

The workaround used in mpv-player is to use "WM_APPCOMMAND" events instead. I'll see if that works.

MusikMan74
Posts: 12
Joined: 06 Jan 2018 23:03

Re: PC Keyboard Multimedia Volume Button Bug

Post by MusikMan74 » 06 Feb 2019 21:02

Thanks for the replies.
I am running Win7/x64 and using ASIO4ALL v2.14

I may just disable the keystrokes via the "bin/keybindings.conf" per your suggestion.

MusikMan74
Posts: 12
Joined: 06 Jan 2018 23:03

Re: PC Keyboard Multimedia Volume Button Bug

Post by MusikMan74 » 06 Feb 2019 21:46

With the

VOLUME_DOWN: ra.volumeDown
VOLUME_UP: ra.volumeUp

lines REMOVED from bin/keybindings.conf, I have a new issue:

notes are added when Vol Up / Vol Down are pressed!

Image

kjetil
Site Admin
Posts: 147
Joined: 20 Jul 2017 20:45

Re: PC Keyboard Multimedia Volume Button Bug

Post by kjetil » 06 Feb 2019 22:20

Crazy. Can you go into Edit -> Preferences -> Various, and enable "Show key codes"?
And then report what numbers are shown when you press these three keys:
1. Volume up
2. Volume down
3. b

kjetil
Site Admin
Posts: 147
Joined: 20 Jul 2017 20:45

Re: PC Keyboard Multimedia Volume Button Bug

Post by kjetil » 06 Feb 2019 22:23

Also, I don't see you press the Volume down key in the video. Which note is added when you press Volume down?

MusikMan74
Posts: 12
Joined: 06 Jan 2018 23:03

Re: PC Keyboard Multimedia Volume Button Bug

Post by MusikMan74 » 06 Feb 2019 22:31

1. Sorry, didn't press 'Vol Down" in the screen grab; it adds E-3...

2. Key codes report:
Volume up: 0 - 48: Up/Down
Volume down: 0 - 46: Up/Down
b: 0 - 48: Up/Down

kjetil
Site Admin
Posts: 147
Joined: 20 Jul 2017 20:45

Re: PC Keyboard Multimedia Volume Button Bug

Post by kjetil » 06 Feb 2019 22:38

Thank you for testing. Okay, there's obviously a clash there, both volume up and b have keycode 48, and I guess volume down and c share key code 46. Volume keys must probably be handled by the catching WM_APPCOMMAND events instead.

You can work around it by doing this in bin/keybindings.conf:
VOLUME_DOWN: ra.evalPython "pass"
VOLUME_UP: ra.evalPython "pass"

Post Reply