Page 1 of 1
Effect column questions
Posted: 01 May 2020 13:58
by Carotino
Hi.
2 questions about effects columns:
1) is it possible to have one graphical effect column for each effect, instead of having it all in the same column together with velocity?
2) is it possible to have the various effect sliders in hexadecimal instead of decimal, so that it's easier to write them down in the effect text column?
Thanks
Re: 2 more questions
Posted: 01 May 2020 15:11
by kjetil
Carotino wrote: ↑01 May 2020 13:58
Hi.
2 questions about effects columns:
1) is it possible to have one graphical effect column for each effect, instead of having it all in the same column together with velocity?
Only FX text columns are separate. But instead you can use a new track for each effect where all tracks are assigned to the same instrument. If you hide the note column (Left alt + n) of the new effect tracks, they don't take up more space.
2) is it possible to have the various effect sliders in hexadecimal instead of decimal, so that it's easier to write them down in the effect text column?
Good idea. I've changed the effect popup menu to display the current hex value. To get this change, replace the file bin/scheme/instruments.scm on your computer with this one:
http://users.notam02.no/~kjetism/instruments.scm
Re: 2 more questions
Posted: 01 May 2020 15:14
by kjetil
I mean, you can use this as a small improvement. I'm not sure how to display the hex values without making clutter. Perhaps have a keybinding-configurable option to switch it on/off.
Re: 2 more questions
Posted: 01 May 2020 20:38
by Carotino
Thanks a lot Kjetil:)
Bye
Re: 2 questions about the effect columns
Posted: 18 May 2020 20:44
by Carotino
Another things I noticed. If I delete the last value from an effect column, the whole automation is deleted from the tracks.
Is this intended?
Thanks
Re: Effect column questions
Posted: 21 May 2020 06:24
by kjetil
If the automation only has two points, and both points have the same value, that's intended behavior. But that should be the only time.
For instance, if the automation has two points with different values, the value of the second point will be set to the value of the first point instead if you try to delete the second point.
Re: Effect column questions
Posted: 15 Aug 2020 11:37
by Lytz1
This really should be included by default as this is super useful.
Which lines are changed in instruments.scm to include the hex-value?
In the latest version instruments.scm is updated, I don't want to override new changes.
Re: Effect column questions
Posted: 16 Aug 2020 08:36
by kjetil
In 5.9.99, it's line 1645 that's changed:
Code: Select all
(<-> "------------Effect: \"" effect-name "\" (hex value: " (format #f "~x" (between 0 (round (* 255 (<ra> :get-instrument-effect instrument-id effect-name))) 255)) ")")
I've uploaded new instruments.scm file to the same url for 5.9.99 now.
Re: Effect column questions
Posted: 05 Sep 2020 10:22
by kjetil
This behavior is in Radium now, so no need to manually fix the instruments.scm file.