Hello,
Revisiting Radium (v5.9.33) evaluation and discovered this "problem":
When pressing the Vol Up / Vol Down buttons on my PC keyboard, Radium's "System Out" volume changes by +/- 7.5 db.
After 10 keypresses, Radium is at full volume, yet the PC master volume is only at "20 / 100".
It is unintuitive as to why Radium's output starts distorting by simply pressing the VOL UP on my PC keyboard :/
Can I humbly suggest you update Radium to either:
A. Follow the PC master volume scaling and make the db change the much smaller per key press (i.e. +/- 1.4 db per press, so it takes 50 key presses to swing from -35db to 35db)
OR
B. Ignore Vol Up / Down keystrokes all together...
I have posted a gif demonstrating the bug:
Thank you for your time,.
PC Keyboard Multimedia Volume Button Bug
Re: PC Keyboard Multimedia Volume Button Bug
I didn't know a key could be used both for a program and for the system volume. This seems more like a bug, or perhaps a design flaw, in the operating system.
You can disable this behavior by deleting these two lines from bin/keybindings.conf:
You can disable this behavior by deleting these two lines from bin/keybindings.conf:
There's probably going to be a new Radium release tomorrow, but I'm not sure what to do about this problem, so I don't think there will be any fix for it in the next release.VOLUME_DOWN: ra.volumeDown
VOLUME_UP: ra.volumeUp
Re: PC Keyboard Multimedia Volume Button Bug
By the way, which version of windows is this? I don't think I've seen this problem before.
Re: PC Keyboard Multimedia Volume Button Bug
Seems like a bug in your audio driver actually:
https://github.com/mpv-player/mpv/commi ... ef74f7547e
The workaround used in mpv-player is to use "WM_APPCOMMAND" events instead. I'll see if that works.
https://github.com/mpv-player/mpv/commi ... ef74f7547e
The workaround used in mpv-player is to use "WM_APPCOMMAND" events instead. I'll see if that works.
-
- Posts: 34
- Joined: 06 Jan 2018 23:03
Re: PC Keyboard Multimedia Volume Button Bug
Thanks for the replies.
I am running Win7/x64 and using ASIO4ALL v2.14
I may just disable the keystrokes via the "bin/keybindings.conf" per your suggestion.
I am running Win7/x64 and using ASIO4ALL v2.14
I may just disable the keystrokes via the "bin/keybindings.conf" per your suggestion.
-
- Posts: 34
- Joined: 06 Jan 2018 23:03
Re: PC Keyboard Multimedia Volume Button Bug
With the
VOLUME_DOWN: ra.volumeDown
VOLUME_UP: ra.volumeUp
lines REMOVED from bin/keybindings.conf, I have a new issue:
notes are added when Vol Up / Vol Down are pressed!
VOLUME_DOWN: ra.volumeDown
VOLUME_UP: ra.volumeUp
lines REMOVED from bin/keybindings.conf, I have a new issue:
notes are added when Vol Up / Vol Down are pressed!
Re: PC Keyboard Multimedia Volume Button Bug
Crazy. Can you go into Edit -> Preferences -> Various, and enable "Show key codes"?
And then report what numbers are shown when you press these three keys:
1. Volume up
2. Volume down
3. b
And then report what numbers are shown when you press these three keys:
1. Volume up
2. Volume down
3. b
Re: PC Keyboard Multimedia Volume Button Bug
Also, I don't see you press the Volume down key in the video. Which note is added when you press Volume down?
-
- Posts: 34
- Joined: 06 Jan 2018 23:03
Re: PC Keyboard Multimedia Volume Button Bug
1. Sorry, didn't press 'Vol Down" in the screen grab; it adds E-3...
2. Key codes report:
Volume up: 0 - 48: Up/Down
Volume down: 0 - 46: Up/Down
b: 0 - 48: Up/Down
2. Key codes report:
Volume up: 0 - 48: Up/Down
Volume down: 0 - 46: Up/Down
b: 0 - 48: Up/Down
Re: PC Keyboard Multimedia Volume Button Bug
Thank you for testing. Okay, there's obviously a clash there, both volume up and b have keycode 48, and I guess volume down and c share key code 46. Volume keys must probably be handled by the catching WM_APPCOMMAND events instead.
You can work around it by doing this in bin/keybindings.conf:
You can work around it by doing this in bin/keybindings.conf:
VOLUME_DOWN: ra.evalPython "pass"
VOLUME_UP: ra.evalPython "pass"